Why La Liga Referee Had To Apologise To Lionel Messi
October 14, 2018
SPORTbible http://www.sportbible.com/assets/images/theme/logo-blk.png 23 minutes ago 0 Shares Why La Liga Referee Had To Apologise To Lionel Messi Sat Oct 13 2018 22:40:45 GMT+0100 (BST) Sat Oct 13 2018 22:57:00 GMT+0100 (BST) Ryan Sidle Ryan Sidle in Football Powered by Lionel Messi has won everything in the game for Barcelona, most of it multiple times, but…
Lionel Messi has won everything in the game for Barcelona, most of it multiple times, but one referee error led to him missing out on more silverware and the referee even apologised for the error.
The footballing butterfly effect is an interesting one. There’s an alternate universe where Paul Scholes offside goal against Porto in 2004 is given and Sven Goran Eriksson ends up as Chelsea manager whilst Jose Mourinho’s path is completely different.
It’s something that has weirdly stuck with me for 14 years as that one decision could have gone on to change the world in a way that can’t quite be comprehended.
Of course everything past Scholes’ goal being correctly given and Manchester United taking a lead in that game is purely fantasy.
There are however some referee decisions that make a more instant huge impact on football and one such incident happened to Lionel Messi and Barcelona in May 2014.
The Catalan giants hosted Atletico Madrid in the last day of the La Liga season with Atleti only needing a point to win their first title since 1996. Diego Simeone’s side did get the draw with a 1-1 against Barca.
However at 1-1 Messi had a goal disallowed. Speaking to TNT Sports, viaMarca, then Barca assistant manager Elvio Paolorosso explained how after the match the referee apologised saying:
“Messi scored a goal that would have given us the title and the referee ruled it out.
“We were crying in the dressing room and the referee came to apologise.
“It was a difficult year.”
Messi and Cesc Fabregas after Atleti equalise. Image: PA Images
It’s actually difficult to see on the replay if Messi is in an offside position or not and whether the final ball comes off a Barca player or an Atleti defender.
If referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz did go into the dressing room after full time then it is quite the admission of a mistake, one that had a huge say.
Atleti celebrate the draw that handed them the title. Image: PA Images
Had Messi’s goal stood then Tata Martino’s side might have gone on to win the title, if they’d held on to the lead, and the Argentine might have kept his job.
Then he’d potentially never have got the Argentina job, maybe that would have led to the country actually winning one of their two failed Copa America finals with the confidence leading them to winning the World Cup in 2018.
I’ll be obsessing over this for years to come now…damn you Paolorosso
Ryan is a writer for SPORTbible. He covers all sport from football, formula one, cricket, rugby, tennis, athletics, mma and wrestling. He obviously hates YOUR football team and has no interest in synchronised swimming.
We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website.
You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in settings.
You can adjust all of your cookie settings by navigating the tabs on the left hand side.
Strictly Necessary Cookies
Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings.
If you disable this cookie, we will not be able to save your preferences. This means that every time you visit this website you will need to enable or disable cookies again.